Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
2

Focus *first* on your few fans -- care for what *they* care about and you'll grow a true audience...

2

Here's what I would tell my younger entrepreneurial self -- ditch the quest for a huge audience and social media fame. I made that mistake. Within two years of starting my business I hustled and grew my email list to thousands of subscribers... but then realized that most of them didn't really care about my content or journey. I ended up deleting over 90% of them. I now realize you can only authentically serve and commit to a small group of people you truly know. So start there. Get to know your first 30 or 50 followers deeply. Apply your skills to help them specifically. Marketers don't teach this counterintuitive relationship-first approach, but I've learned caring for a few is far more fulfilling than chasing clout. And as you grow your audience you'll be able to create content & offerings that are much more aligned to what they care about.

2 Comments
Authentic Business for Solopreneurs with George Kao
Business Tao with George Kao
George Kao shares a unique message for business: Create without resistance. Connect without guile. Succeed without stress. Find his best articles here: https://www.GeorgeKao.com .
Topics include Authentic Marketing, Joyful Productivity, and Healthy Money. New episode every Monday.