Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

I tried giving away my courses for free. Here's what happened...

Years ago, I championed the idea that all knowledge should be freely available online, aiming to accelerate humanity's progress. When I actually tried it, I learned two valuable lessons -- (1) free courses resulted in lower engagement and commitment from participants, and (2) my motivation waned without the reciprocal energy of paid exchanges. This experience, coupled with the disappointing experiment in using Patreon, gradually shifted my perspective. I now seek a middle way. I hope to integrate generosity and sustainability. I now advocate for (fair) pricing of courses. It's important for boundaries, self-worth, and the support of small creators.

0 Comments
Authentic Business for Solopreneurs with George Kao
Business Tao with George Kao
George Kao shares a unique message for business: Create without resistance. Connect without guile. Succeed without stress. Find his best articles here: https://www.GeorgeKao.com .
Topics include Authentic Marketing, Joyful Productivity, and Healthy Money. New episode every Monday.